In the 1970s Collins wrote a series of short stories she called “Losing Ground.” They were never published but she loved the title and kept it for her first feature film. That story collection, now titled “Whatever Happened to Interracial Love?” will be published by Ecco Press, an imprint of HarperCollins, in the Fall of 2016.

Kathleen Collins's short story Interiors was published in the Fall 2015 edition of "A Public Space."


Women, Sisters, and Friends, 1971
A Summer Diary
Lila, 1974
The Story of Three Colored Ladies, 1975
Losing Ground, 1980
But Then She’s Madame Flor, 1986
Conversations with Julie, 1988


Almost Music aka Portrait of Katherine, a cabaret play,  1977
In the Midnight Hour, 1978
The Brothers, 1980
Begin the Beguine, a quartet of one-acts, 1984
While Older Men Speak, 1985
Looking for Jane, 1988